Login    Register

Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

For "upgrading" from FreeNAS Legacy to NAS4Free and upgrading NAS4Free to newer builds.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
  • Author
    Message

Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 25 Jun 2012 02:50

I haven't done this yet so I wanted to get all the steps laid out in order. I will try to add all the install types such as embedded, LiveCD and full as I get the information but my journey will start with embedded FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191 to NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x (similar to FreeNAS 0.7.5.9187). As Zoon as said there is no direct, simple upgrade path from FreeNAS to NAS4Free and never will be for various reasons (don't ask me, I don't know but Zoon has mentioned legal ones [with open software? Yes, because it's a copyright issue, not a software issue.]). This upgrade path mentioned below is essentially a complete, new install of NAS4Free tailored to your system by the config edit.

I will be taking nearly all my information from the ReadMe file that comes with NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x. I will also lean heavily on the developers. This information and the NAS4Free application itself (as a FreeNAS branch) is the great work of Zoon01 and Daoyama, thanks!!

Vacation is over and so is the NAS4Free install! Perfecto! Please comment as necessary! Last edit 7/8/2012 10PM

Installation:
    1. Ensure you have FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191 installed and running on your NAS. Upgrade your version if you have an older version. The FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191 files are here.
    - You CAN upgrade through the firmware upgrade in the webGUI if you have an older version than FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191.
    - You CANNOT upgrade through the firmware upgrade in the webGUI to NAS4FREE if you are already at FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191.

    2. Save your FreeNAS config file from System|Backup/Restore screen and hit "Download configuration". Save it somewhere.

    3. If you have lots of HDDs of the same size like me, save a copy of your Disk|Management screen. This will link ad## to HDD size and HDD serial number. Could be useful later.

    *NOTE: Later versions automatically convert the config and import disks, so it is no longer desirable or necessary to manually edit config.xml, so feel free to skip step #4. While the automatic conversion works fine in most cases it is still good to have a backup and keep this procedure handy just in case of trouble. - Al
    4. Find the downloaded file with an extension XML, add ".TXT" to the end of the file name and bring it up in an editor like Notepad++ in Windoze. Don't use a word processor, they add info and it won't be saved correctly. Notepad will not view it correctly but will save it correctly. Wordpad will view it correctly but not save it correctly. Of course if you have an XML editor then you can just edit the original downloaded file. Edit the file as follows:

    - Find all "freenas" labels, replace with "nas4free".
    - Find all "FreeNAS" labels, replace with "NAS4Free". (let's be precise with our capitalizations 8-) )
    - Find "<version>8.9</version>", replace with "<version>1.0</version>".
    - Keep the editor open to be ready to do ad## to ada## conversions from information collected in step 8.

    5. Burn a copy of NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x on a bootable CD/DVD or make an embedded version.

    - I expect the vast majority of people know how to create a bootable CD/DVD from the NAS4Free ISO so get to it. :)
    - As for the embedded version that is a lot more tricky. The image (.IMG) file is uncompressed so it can be put right to some smaller storage instead of wasting some tiny amount of space on a HDD which then couldn't be used for a RAID. That smaller storage (usually flash media) can be a CF card or a USB stick. I heard the IMG file can be placed into flash media by other programs like Win32 Image Writer but I prefer to use m0nowall's PhysDiskWrite. Here is a good explanation of writing the image, just substitute your NAS4Free image for the pfSense one they mention. A couple of suggestions:
    - - Don't use a USB stick larger than 2 GB, it's a PhysDiskWrite limitation unless overruled. Otherwise use whatever size you like.
    - - Note PhysDiskWrite CAN overwrite your HDDs if you pick the wrong "PhysicalDrive"! (that's why the 2 GB limit mentioned above)
    - - Rename your image file to something simple, like n4f.img before you use it with PhysDiskWrite (easier to type than NAS4Free-x64-embedded-9.0.0.1.img!).
    - - Don't forget to give PhysDiskWrite's DOS window administrator rights in Vista and Win7!
    - - If your flash media does not finish it's transfer during the image writing through PhysDiskWrite no fear, try again (I've sometimes had to do it a dozen times).
    - - If your flash media does not start image writing, no fear. What always works for me is to format the flash media in anything (FAT, NTFS, etc.) and physically pull the media from its socket in the middle of the format. Now the flash media is NOT formatted and then PhysDiskWrite always works with it. Odd but always works for me, especially if the USB stick was previously used (i.e. was formatted).

    6. Boot up the CD or embedded flash device with NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x on it. If you have the embedded version make changes to get it to talk to the network card but that should be it so then skip to step 7.

    7. Install NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x from your CD/DVD to your HDD. Make changes to get it to talk to the network card. Note LAN IP address if you don't have it set to a specific LAN IP address. Now browse to your NAS, default login into NAS4Free's webGUI is username: admin, password: nas4free.

    8. Get a list through NAS4Free of your HDDs from the Diagnostics|Information|Disks screen. Make sure to find links for each HDD to HDD ada## and HDD size as well as HDD serial number just in case. Finish the editing you started in step 4.

    9. Go into NAS4Free and import the edited FreeNAS (now NAS4Free) config file from step 4. Reboot and now you have NAS4Free configured as your old FreeNAS was on your NAS. NOTE: If you do not have the NAS4Free logo come up in the webGUI, find some way to flush your browser's cache (it doesn't always work the first time for me :roll: ).

    10. Import your HDDs.
    - All HDDs, ZFS and non-ZFS, should be up and running if you did the ad## to ada## translation correctly.
    - If your non-ZFS and ZFS HDDs are not there (i.e. not show up in the Disk|Management screen), you should be able to add them. As long as you don't format anything but indicate the data HDDs are already formatted, they should be accepted as is in NAS4Free (i.e. data on the HDD is NOT changed).
    - For ZFS HDDs there is one more step to upgrade the ZFS on the HDDs from v13 to v28. To verify the pools are not upgraded merely display ZFS pool status and ZFS will tell you your pools are running on an older version. That's expected, of course. The older ZFS pools can be upgraded one of two ways through the:
    - - webGUI - Goto Disks|ZFS|Pools|Tools, set Command = upgrade and Option = All, then click Send Command. All will upgrade all ZFS pools in the system, Display will only display ZFS pool version info and Pool will only upgrade only by pool, repetitive if you have more than one pool like me.
    - - CLI - Goto Advanced|Command, Beside Command put "zpool upgrade -a" and click on Execute. Same as the webGUI action above.

    11. You're now up and running with NAS4Free. Welcome to our world!
Last edited by al562 on 13 Jan 2013 06:43, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added to FAQs & locked.
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby sacii » 27 Jun 2012 15:44

I was able to bring up my non-ZFS HDDs by changing names in the FreeNAS configuration file. For example:

    ad4 changed to ada1
    ad6 changed to ada2

After importing the configuration file my disks and mount points were all correct.
PowerUser
sacii
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 13:29

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 01 Jul 2012 14:39

sacii wrote:I was able to bring up my non-ZFS HDDs by changing names in the FreeNAS configuration file. For example:

    ad4 changed to ada1
    ad6 changed to ada2

After importing the configuration file my disks and mount points were all correct.

So the only way this works is when you load N4F you somehow know which HDDs used to be ad## and in N4F you now know which ones are ada##. What used to be ad4 is now ada1. I would think that would be easy in a system with few HDDs and different HDDs sizes but without writing down serial numbers of HDDs to ad##, how would you know? Well I guess I answered myself and that is what I'll do from the Disk|Management screen in FreeNAS before I upgrade. I will also make changes in the install above.

Thanks for the prompt. :)
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby pv2008 » 19 Jul 2012 06:55

Thanks for this tutorial!

By the way, I am currently using FreeNAS 0.7.2 in RAID-Z2 (ZFS) - effectively RAID-5 with 1 spare drive - configuration. Do you know if these instructions also work for my case?

Cheers,
Louis.
NewUser
pv2008
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 06:52

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby ChriZathens » 21 Jul 2012 22:31

When i upgraded a couple of days ago, I realised that none of my 9 disks had the same number as before, after importing the edited config file...
Both my raid5 arrays were fine, shares were working fine, but in disk management screen only two of my disks were listed as online and all the others as missing.
After the initial panic, I managed to fix things:
I deleted all the disks and re- added them one by one ( never hit the apply changes - too chicken...lol)
After that i took a screenshot and since I also had a screenshot from freenas, I saw how each disk should be renamed based on their serial numbers.
Did the renaming in the config file and imported it in n4f
After that everything was normal again ( and i didn't have to kill myself for losing 7TB of data...lol)
My Nas
  1. Case: Fractal Design Define R2
  2. M/B: MSI GF615M-P33
  3. CPU: AMD Athlon II X240
  4. RAM: 8GB DDR3
  5. PSU: Chieftec 850w 80+ modular
  6. Storage: 4x1.5TB and 4x2TB HDDs in RaidZ1 arrays ~ 9.1 TB usable disk space :)
  7. O/S: NAS4Free 9.1.0.1.847 -amd64 embedded
  8. Extra H/W: LSI 3081E-R SAS Controller
Backup Nas: HP N40L (5x500GB RaidZ - 8GB ECC RAM)
Forum Moderator
ChriZathens

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 07:14
Location: Athens - Greece

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 24 Jul 2012 02:06

ChriZathens wrote:When i upgraded a couple of days ago, I realised that none of my 9 disks had the same number as before, after importing the edited config file...
If you had printed the Disks|Management screen (step #3) before the switch to N4F you would have had the info to determine the ad## to ada## matching. As it is you've pushed it right to the edge to get the info but didn't fall over (i.e. apply changes) so good thinking. :roll:

I suggest to others they take the less risky route. :P
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 24 Jul 2012 02:08

pv2008 wrote:Thanks for this tutorial!

By the way, I am currently using FreeNAS 0.7.2 in RAID-Z2 (ZFS) - effectively RAID-5 with 1 spare drive - configuration. Do you know if these instructions also work for my case?

Cheers,
Louis.
It shouldn't matter what your HDD configuration of FN is, this tutorial should work. I lost data once before and I wanted to make a foolproof step-by-step process this time so I wouldn't loose anything else. Worked like it was supposed to.
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby CBongo » 13 Aug 2012 20:19

I successfully upgraded from FreeNAS 0.7.2.7529 full install x64 to NAS4Free 9.0.0.1-188 using this method. Had to adjust the CIFS max level to NT1 to keep Anonymous as the authentication method, though.

If you're comfortable reading FreeBSD kernel messages, there are startup messages that make mapping disk devices simple. Hit Scroll lock then page up until you find these messages:

ada0 at ata0 bus 0 scbus0 target 0 lun 0
ada0: <MAXTOR 6L020L1 A93.0500> ATA-5 device
ada0: 133.000MB/s transfers (UDMA6, PIO 8192bytes)
ada0: 19595MB (40132503 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada0: Previously was known as ad0
ada1 at ata4 bus 0 scbus4 target 0 lun 0
ada1: <HDS722525VLAT80 V36OA6MA> ATA-6 device
ada1: 100.000MB/s transfers (UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
ada1: 238475MB (488397168 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada1: Previously was known as ad8
ada2 at ata5 bus 0 scbus5 target 0 lun 0
ada2: <WDC WD3200AAJB-00WGA0 00.02C01> ATA-8 device
ada2: 100.000MB/s transfers (UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
ada2: 305245MB (625142448 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada2: Previously was known as ad10
NewUser
CBongo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Aug 2012 20:00

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby hope » 14 Aug 2012 04:20

Nice walkthrough Earendil. I'm running FreeNAS 0.7 (revision 4919 - khadasar). Do you see any issues upgrading to NAS4Free from that? I've searched high and low for an upgrade to 0.7.2 but haven't found anything I'd deem trustworthy for a distribution "that old".
NewUser
hope
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Aug 2012 04:05

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby pv2008 » 18 Aug 2012 10:39

CBongo wrote:I successfully upgraded from FreeNAS 0.7.2.7529 full install x64 to NAS4Free 9.0.0.1-188 using this method. Had to adjust the CIFS max level to NT1 to keep Anonymous as the authentication method, though.

If you're comfortable reading FreeBSD kernel messages, there are startup messages that make mapping disk devices simple. Hit Scroll lock then page up until you find these messages:

ada0 at ata0 bus 0 scbus0 target 0 lun 0
ada0: <MAXTOR 6L020L1 A93.0500> ATA-5 device
ada0: 133.000MB/s transfers (UDMA6, PIO 8192bytes)
ada0: 19595MB (40132503 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada0: Previously was known as ad0
ada1 at ata4 bus 0 scbus4 target 0 lun 0
ada1: <HDS722525VLAT80 V36OA6MA> ATA-6 device
ada1: 100.000MB/s transfers (UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
ada1: 238475MB (488397168 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada1: Previously was known as ad8
ada2 at ata5 bus 0 scbus5 target 0 lun 0
ada2: <WDC WD3200AAJB-00WGA0 00.02C01> ATA-8 device
ada2: 100.000MB/s transfers (UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
ada2: 305245MB (625142448 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
ada2: Previously was known as ad10


Hi,

Is it still possible to access these diagnostic messages after the machine has booted up? I mean, something equivalent to "dmesg" in Linux?? Thanks!
NewUser
pv2008
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 06:52

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby raulfg3 » 18 Aug 2012 14:34

Yes, use dmesg is the same that Linux.
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 18 Aug 2012 14:36

hope wrote:Nice walkthrough Earendil. I'm running FreeNAS 0.7 (revision 4919 - khadasar). Do you see any issues upgrading to NAS4Free from that? I've searched high and low for an upgrade to 0.7.2 but haven't found anything I'd deem trustworthy for a distribution "that old".
Wow, you are behind. :oops:

OK, not much out there. First on the FN doc in the first grey box it tells you that you should have left FN 0.7 ages ago due to vulnerabilities. Amazingly they give mention to N4F and even a link - after all their developers has said about us (select thumbs down filter) this is amazing. Nevertheless via FN's logs I think the cutover from FreeBSD to 7.1 to 7.2 is in FN version/build 5000's. What does this mean? I would say without specific evidence to support this, upgrade to any FN 0.7.2 version and then you can upgrade from 0.7.2 to N4F 1.0.

Remember your info is in the config file so back that up first and every time you upgrade with a stable version of FN or N4F. I have several old copies just in case. All other storage in you NAS that does not have FN files on it is data. So as long as you don't do drastic things during install (i.e. format a HDD), the worst you will do is mess with a config file - if you do then you simply revert back.

As to what FN 0.7.2 version to upgrade to? Not sure. Where to get it? Maybe it's out on the Internet somewhere but I don't have the motivation to look. I checked my own archives and the oldest I have is FreeNAS-amd64-embedded-0.7.2.6378.img. Let me know if that will help. Let us know what you eventually do.
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby pv2008 » 19 Aug 2012 09:32

Hi Earendil

I have followed steps 1-9 as posted, and imported the modified config into a new installation of nas4free (with my old HDDs of course).

Right now, I can see all of my existing HDDs under Disks->Management, and filesystem listed as "ZFS storage pool device ". However when I go into Disks->ZFS->Pools the pool listed shows "unknown" for size, used , free, etc., and nothing is listed under Disks->ZFS->Volumes. Finally Disks->ZFS->Configuration shows my previous configuration under "Current" but is blank under "Detected". Did I miss something there?

Thanks in advance!

[Update] After a few more reboots and an attempt to add a new pool (even though list of volumes to pick from was empty) my ZFS pool is working again. Still not sure what had happened...
Last edited by pv2008 on 19 Aug 2012 10:25, edited 2 times in total.
NewUser
pv2008
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 06:52

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby pv2008 » 19 Aug 2012 09:33

raulfg3 wrote:Yes, use dmesg is the same that Linux.


Thanks!
NewUser
pv2008
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 06:52

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 19 Aug 2012 16:58

pv2008, because the ZFS pool information resides on the ZFS pool itself ZFS uses that to run the pool. The indications in the N4F webgui are what was last setup and do not "read back" to update the webgui except after a reboot. I have seen even a reboot not do this but sometimes other changes in ZFS (like what you did) will get them to match up.

Just for detail sake ensure what you know about the hardware matches what is in the webgui. The synchronize button should do this (as I understand it). Good luck!
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby pv2008 » 20 Aug 2012 18:46

Earendil wrote:pv2008, because the ZFS pool information resides on the ZFS pool itself ZFS uses that to run the pool. The indications in the N4F webgui are what was last setup and do not "read back" to update the webgui except after a reboot. I have seen even a reboot not do this but sometimes other changes in ZFS (like what you did) will get them to match up.

Just for detail sake ensure what you know about the hardware matches what is in the webgui. The synchronize button should do this (as I understand it). Good luck!


Thanks for that. Things seem to be running fine for now so hopefully nothing breaks from now on.
NewUser
pv2008
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 06:52

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby hope » 23 Aug 2012 03:14

Earendil wrote:Wow, you are behind. :oops:


Sure. But if it's doing what it's told, sitting under the desk, why mess with it? ;)

Unfortunately, it stopped doing what it was told, so I figured I'd see what upgrading it would do. Turns out the issues I was having (reboots when transferring data) were probably due to the Silicon Image 3114 that I had to interface my SATA drives to an old mobo. I don't know how I didn't realize that was a bad add-in card when I bought it. I guess I wasn't doing my homework.

In any case, according to danmero's posts, I needed to re-format the drives anyway to get the Silicon Image card to play nicely with FreeNAS (N4F), so I just ended up doing a fresh install of N4F 9.0.0.1. I can't get the Software RAID 5 to work to save my life, but figure that's the SiI card's fault and I'm just going to get by without RAID 5 and try to get some data reliability from scheduled rsync's.

Thanks for the help!
NewUser
hope
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Aug 2012 04:05

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby kareem613 » 03 Sep 2012 05:44

For those on an older freenas install. I was on Freenas 7.2.5xxx and I loaded up the Nas4Free live cd. It automatically took care of the configuration changes and everything just loaded up with my freenas config perfectly!
No need to manually modify anything.
NewUser
kareem613
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Sep 2012 05:42

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby raulfg3 » 03 Sep 2012 06:49

kareem613 wrote:It automatically took care of the configuration changes and everything just loaded up with my freenas config perfectly!
No need to manually modify anything.
This is a new feature on the last version, thanks to Daisuke Aoyama.

PD: save config after and before upgrade, and do it in a new boot device ( new USB, CF or HD), to avoid upgrade or config conversion problems, if somethings goes wrong, you only need to use old boot device.
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby tpampin » 14 Sep 2012 16:35

Earendil,

Thank you for this post, I did the upgrade yesterday and it went flawlessly. It may be stated that there is no "simple upgrade path from FreeNAS to NAS4Free", but your walkthrough is simple enough.

Also, the tip about 'unformatting' the usb stick by pulling it during a format if PhysDiskWrite fails to write was excellent, ran right into that failure and the trick fixed it.

thank you!

-Thomas
NewUser
tpampin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Sep 2012 15:36

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby lifesabeach » 14 Sep 2012 20:55

Hi, i am new to this forum but not to FreeNAS.

I am running 0.7.2 Sabanda (Revision 6694) on an old epia-M-box (embedded install) - wich is fine for my home use.
To get not too far behind i thought an update would be nice ... noticing that FreeNAS changed to NAS4Free and updating (from "far behind" to "brand new") is not as comfortable as it used to be. :(

But then: :P

kareem613 wrote:No need to manually modify anything.

raulfg3 wrote:This is a new feature on the last version


Is this also working with the embedded install?
Maybe through a Firmware update like i was used to?

Thaks in advance.
lifesabeach
lifesabeach
NewUser
lifesabeach
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Sep 2012 20:22

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby papperone » 15 Sep 2012 12:23

Hi, I'm running 0.7.2 Sabanda (revision 5872) since more than a year without any major issues (just one HD died few moths ago but was in the raidz2 pool so I replaced/resilver all ok!).

My config is 10x1Tb in RaidZ2 and 2 "work" disk (1 x 500 dedicated to mldonkey and VirtualBox, 1 x 750 dedicated to transmission) both UFS formatted.
I preferred to add those 2 spare disk so the big archive pool can go easily in standby when nobody access any files (like during the first part of morning or the whole night).

I'm considering upgrade to NAS4Free but I'd like to have a "fresh install" intead of an upgrade (in the past using old config files during upgrades often leads to unstable NAS).
I need to have:
1) ZFS RAIDZ2 pool + 2 HD UFS readded as they are
2) Transmission (that should be by deafault)
3) MlDonkey (is it any guide on how to install it in NAS4Free??)
4) VirtualBox (I saw some guides even to upgrade to 4.x, as I'm currently using 3.2.12

Any suggestion, links, guides, whatever useful specially about point 3 & 4 ?
NewUser
papperone
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Sep 2012 13:15

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Viper-sss » 15 Sep 2012 14:19

I upgrade my Freenas 7 this morning and Nas4Free works perfectly. :)

Thanks for this guide.
9.1.0.1 - Sandstorm (revision 273) x64-full sur AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 @ 3GHz
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P 2 X 2GB DDR3 (4GB)
Raidz2 14.5To --> 3 x WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0 + 3 x ST2000DL003-9VT166 + 2 x Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
NewUser
Viper-sss
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Sep 2012 13:03
Location: Toulouse, FRANCE

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby Earendil » 17 Sep 2012 15:22

lifesabeach wrote:But then: :P

kareem613 wrote:No need to manually modify anything.

raulfg3 wrote:This is a new feature on the last version


Is this also working with the embedded install?
Maybe through a Firmware update like i was used to?

Thaks in advance.
lifesabeach
It appears Daoyama, FreeNAS/NAS4Free coder extrodinaire :ugeek:, in his firmware versions of NAS4Free has put one-time code in to do effectively the same thing my install procedure does during the first loading of the firmware. So the ada## and config file changes are done automatically. I think this covers the v9.1.0.0 versions only.
Earendil

NAS4Free server:
- AMD Athlon X2 5000+
- Asrock K10N78 w/2 GB RAM
- HDDs
-- 40 GB WD PATA
-- 3x 1 TB WD SATA AF
-- 1 TB Hitachi SATA
-- 6x 2 TB WD SATA AF
- Promise TX4 PCI
- 400W power supply
- 2 GB USB stick w/64-bit NAS4Free v9.2.0.1.925
Moderator
Earendil

User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.

Re: Installing NAS4Free 9.0.0.1.x over FreeNAS 0.7.2

Postby bradmiller » 27 Sep 2012 18:37

Earendil wrote:Installation:[list]1. Ensure you have FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191 installed and running on your NAS. Upgrade your version if you have an older version. The FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191 files are here.
- You CAN upgrade through the firmware upgrade in the webGUI if you have an older version than FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191.
- You CANNOT upgrade through the firmware upgrade in the webGUI to NAS4FREE if you are already at FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191.



Hey everyone - I have a version of freenas that seems to be giving me a few issues - the raid5 is intact but the system hangs every now and then.
The version installed is 0.7.2 Sabanda (revision 5829) and according to the post above I can do a firmware upgrade... I am assuming to the FreeNAS 0.7.2.8191
From there I can upgrade to nas4free - correct?

Anyone know where I can get a file from a trusted source?

TIA

P.S. I am bit of a noob so please go easy.
NewUser
bradmiller
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Sep 2012 18:23

Next

Return to Upgrade NAS4Free

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests