Login    Register
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
  • Author
Webserver with an indexed file directory and user login

Postby ashwix » 01 Oct 2013 08:30

Hello All,

This is my first project with NAS4Free and I have managed to do the basic setup as well as create SMB shares etc but seem to be unable to get the Webserver running as I want.

Basically I need to create a webpage "index.html" which shows a listing of files users can access by clicking on the links mentioned in that file. The files are stored in "mnt/webpool/webserver/files" I have been able to get that done. What I'm unable to do is get the user to have a log in screen show up when they access the webpage, whether locally or over the internet. I have a fixed IP Address and currently have setup the router to forward port 8000 (using this for the webserver) to the NAS. When I type the Fixed IP followed by :8000 it shows me the index.html page but no login is asked.

The configuration I used in the Webserver section is as follows :

Protocol- HTTP
Port - 8000
Run as - www
Document root - mnt/webpool/webserver/files
Upload directory - mnt/webpool/webserver/files/uploads
Authentication - Is enabled (Enable authentication.Give only local users access to the web page.) (not sure how to use this)
URL - mnt/webpool/webserver/files (not sure how to use this)
Realm - webfiles (not sure how to use this)

Directory listing - Enabled (Enable directory listing.A directory listing is generated if a directory is requested and no index-file (index.php, index.html, index.htm or default.htm) was found in that directory)

Auxiliary parameters - (not sure if I need to add something here for the log-in screen)

The user settings are :
Shell - SCPOnly
Primary Group - Public
Additional Group - Wheel
Homedirectory - /home/user1
User Portal - Checked. Grant access to user portal.

The group settings are :
Group : Public
GID:1001
Description : Common Access Folder
NewUser
ashwix