Login    Register

AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Motherboard compatibillity with NAS4Free, questions, answers, suggestions
Forum rules
NAS4Free Official SiteSet-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
  • Author
    Message

AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby unkis17 » 13 Nov 2012 18:58

Anyone running an AMD FX-4100 and using the powerd deamon? I am getting an error "kernel: hwpstate0: set freq failed, err 6" constantly once I turn on the powerd to scale down the CPU

The system seems to be running just fine with the scaling on, but I am not sure if I am causing any damage or just filling my log with a warning? If it is a warning any way i can try and get rid of this error?

I have seen online that you can try "hint.acpi.0.disabled=1" to your loader.conf, but this didn't seem to do anything for me.

Thank you,

Unkis
NAS4Free 9.1.0.1.573 X64 Embedded, 16 GB, AMD-FX-4100 4 Core CPU, 4x2T on RaidZ1 on ASUS M5A88-M MoBo, 3x1T on RaidZ1 on HighPoint 2720SGL, 3x1T on RaidZ1 on SIL3114
PowerUser
unkis17
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 01:46

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby jandegr » 21 Nov 2012 10:45

unkis17 wrote:Anyone running an AMD FX-4100 and using the powerd deamon? I am getting an error "kernel: hwpstate0: set freq failed, err 6" constantly once I turn on the powerd to scale down the CPU

The system seems to be running just fine with the scaling on, but I am not sure if I am causing any damage or just filling my log with a warning? If it is a warning any way i can try and get rid of this error?

I have seen online that you can try "hint.acpi.0.disabled=1" to your loader.conf, but this didn't seem to do anything for me.

Thank you,

Unkis

Hi,
Is it not this
Code: Select all
 hint.acpi_throttle.0.disabled = "1"
that you mean ?
It may or may not solve your problem, but it's good to do it anyway, acpi_throttle is
for legacy cpu's that don't have P-states, but FreeBSD throws it in anyway, as a result
it confuses the rest. you can check with
Code: Select all
sysctl -a | grep cpu
on the console before and after to check for difference or to find another clue.
regards,
jandegr
PowerUser
jandegr
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 15:41
Location: Belgium

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby unkis17 » 21 Nov 2012 20:19

@jandegr'

I do think I had inputted that line wrong b/c once I rebooted I kept getting errors. I will retry this weekend and see what it gets me.
NAS4Free 9.1.0.1.573 X64 Embedded, 16 GB, AMD-FX-4100 4 Core CPU, 4x2T on RaidZ1 on ASUS M5A88-M MoBo, 3x1T on RaidZ1 on HighPoint 2720SGL, 3x1T on RaidZ1 on SIL3114
PowerUser
unkis17
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 01:46

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby rostreich » 06 Feb 2013 19:58

NAS1: x64 9.1.0.1 - rev636 - AMD A4-5300 APU - ASUS F2A85-M - 32 GB Ram -> 2x 1500GB Mirror + 2x 500GB Mirror + 3x 1500GB RAIDZ1
NAS2: x64 9.1.0.1 - rev636 - AMD A4-5300 APU - ASUS F2A85-M LE - 16 GB Ram -> 4x 500GB RAIDZ2
NAS3: x86 9.1.0.1 - rev636 - Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz - FUJITSU SIEMENS D1387 - 1 GB Ram -> 3x 40 GB Mirror
PowerUser
rostreich
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 02 Feb 2013 13:05
Location: Germany

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby TeoLinuX » 10 Jul 2013 22:59

Same problem here with AMD APU A4-4000 (new Richland architecture)
I didn't try the workaround yet.
Apart from annoying clutter in the log file, my system is working properly, so far.
DIY NAS with APU AMD A4-4000 on ASRock FM2A75M-DGS mobo + 16GB RAM + 3x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 in ZFS raidz
Nas4Free 9.2.0.1.959 x64 embedded (with data) - CIFS ; NFS ; minidlna ; DAAP ; bittorrent
Player: mede8er MED600X3D , connected via WiFi to NFS shares on NAS
PowerUser
TeoLinuX

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 15:29
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby TeoLinuX » 31 Oct 2013 12:32

Sorry if I bump this old thread. Where is the loader.conf file in Nas4Free? I can't find it! :roll:
DIY NAS with APU AMD A4-4000 on ASRock FM2A75M-DGS mobo + 16GB RAM + 3x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 in ZFS raidz
Nas4Free 9.2.0.1.959 x64 embedded (with data) - CIFS ; NFS ; minidlna ; DAAP ; bittorrent
Player: mede8er MED600X3D , connected via WiFi to NFS shares on NAS
PowerUser
TeoLinuX

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 15:29
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby raulfg3 » 31 Oct 2013 12:39

loader.conf are available ONLY in latest 847 version in the system | Advanced Tab.

http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=do ... m_advanced
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4000
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby TeoLinuX » 31 Oct 2013 13:55

Thank you very much for the quick response.
If I want to manually edit the loader.conf file, and not through the web GUI, where do I find it in the file system?
It's not in /boot :(
DIY NAS with APU AMD A4-4000 on ASRock FM2A75M-DGS mobo + 16GB RAM + 3x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 in ZFS raidz
Nas4Free 9.2.0.1.959 x64 embedded (with data) - CIFS ; NFS ; minidlna ; DAAP ; bittorrent
Player: mede8er MED600X3D , connected via WiFi to NFS shares on NAS
PowerUser
TeoLinuX

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 15:29
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby jandegr » 04 Dec 2013 07:20

TeoLinuX wrote:Thank you very much for the quick response.
If I want to manually edit the loader.conf file, and not through the web GUI, where do I find it in the file system?
It's not in /boot :(

hi,
look in /cf
that holds your embedded install.
further instructions on how to edit can be foud in http://forums.nas4free.org/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1076#p4050
regards,
Jan
PowerUser
jandegr
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 15:41
Location: Belgium

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby TeoLinuX » 04 Dec 2013 21:16

I was successful in editing the loader.conf adding
Code: Select all
hint.acpi_throttle.0.disabled = "1"

The problem is solved, I don't have any more the haunting error message, but I lost the CPU frequency report in the main menu screen of the web GUI.
My question is: the CPU frequency is no longer reported, but which is the frequency set? Is it changing/adapting? is it staying @max all the time?

Edit: I noticed in log that powerd is not working!

thanx
DIY NAS with APU AMD A4-4000 on ASRock FM2A75M-DGS mobo + 16GB RAM + 3x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 in ZFS raidz
Nas4Free 9.2.0.1.959 x64 embedded (with data) - CIFS ; NFS ; minidlna ; DAAP ; bittorrent
Player: mede8er MED600X3D , connected via WiFi to NFS shares on NAS
PowerUser
TeoLinuX

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 15:29
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: AMD FX-4100 CPU Scaling

Postby TeoLinuX » 28 Dec 2013 23:07

This is a confirmed problem.
See this thread: https://forums.freebsd.org/viewtopic.php?t=31451

A forum member points out that this should be solved in RELEASE 10
The patch is a matter of few lines. Is it possible to backport it to Nas4Free? Many AMD users are affected.
http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/query-pr.cgi?pr=167018

Also reported here: http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/free ... 67758.html

Thank you all
DIY NAS with APU AMD A4-4000 on ASRock FM2A75M-DGS mobo + 16GB RAM + 3x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 in ZFS raidz
Nas4Free 9.2.0.1.959 x64 embedded (with data) - CIFS ; NFS ; minidlna ; DAAP ; bittorrent
Player: mede8er MED600X3D , connected via WiFi to NFS shares on NAS
PowerUser
TeoLinuX

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 15:29
Location: Milan, Italy

Return to Motherboards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests