2015-08-23 NAS4Free 10.2.0.2.1803 released!
2015-08-12 NAS4Free 9.3.0.2.1771 released!
Don't use Extended GUI on any 10.x series yet!
Please we need your help with https://translations.launchpad.net/nas4free/trunk/+pots/nas4free translations

ZFS Pool error

Forum rules
NAS4Free Official SiteSet-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 27 Jun 2012 16:35

Hi

When I tray and create my ZFS pool, it gives me an error 1 when I click apply changes.

I read somewhere that I might need to do wipe the drives completely clean before creating the pool, is this true and if so, how do I go about doing that.

Any advise.

Thanks

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 29 Jun 2012 08:05

mattyg007 wrote:read somewhere that I might need to do wipe the drives completely clean before creating the pool
yes, you can use "dd" to do the job.

http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0129

If you have important data, make a Backup First.

PD: Nas4free can continue working withot problem with this error, only afect to WebGUI not to data or ZFS stability, so if you have a lot of Data, perhaps do you wants to live with "Error 1 changes can not be applied".
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 30 Jun 2012 17:18

Thanks for the reply, I've run dban on all six of my 2TB drives but I still get the same error when trying to create a pool.

Not sure if I have done something wrong or if there is something else I need to do...

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 14:11

Anybody :)

Really would like to use the ZFS file system and need to get this NAS box up and running soon.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2012 14:30

Please post your step, perhaps you forgot some importan step.
1 Do you wipe first and last sector ? , please post the comand do you use.
2 How do you create your pool , please describe all step.

tell us what config do you want to use whit your 6 Disk, perhaps can help you to create from CLI if WebGUI do not work (Anbd tell us the name of disk (ad0,2,3,5,7,8,etc...)

PD: This user solved the problem reinstalling NAS4Free: http://forums.nas4free.org/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=261&p=714#p714
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 16:43

Thanks so much for getting back to me.

I have six disks, ada0, ada1, ada2, ada3, ada4, ada5.

These are the two command i ran on all the drives.
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 count=1
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 oseek=` count=27029168 - 2` count=2

I then logged into the web gui and went to disk management, added the disk without formatting them.
I then went to format and formatted them for ZFS pool.
Then I went to disks, ZFS and created a Virtual device
Then I went to pools, management and tried to added the pool there and that is where it gives me the error.

I have also tried a re-install but didn't help.

Hope this helps, thanks again.

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 16:53

Sorry, meant to tell you as well that I would like to create one raidz1 storage pool with all of my drives using all of the available drive space.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2012 21:44

mattyg007 wrote:These are the two command i ran on all the drives.
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 count=1
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 oseek=` count=27029168 - 2` count=2
I underline and Bold the part wrong.

To avoid this problem use wipe.sh is the same code of the wiki, copy to /usr/local/sbin and check that have execute permision, try to execute on all disk of your pool like is described on wiki:http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0129

wipe.sh


PD: 27029168 x 51 2= 13.838.934.016 /1024 /1024/1024 =12.88 GB = Strange capacity, so your numbers are wrong.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. You must LOGIN or REGISTER to view these files.
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 06:35

Will give it a try, thanks!

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 09:29

When I try and run wipe.sh it says to me command not found.

Not sure why.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 04 Jul 2012 10:01

use full path /usr/local/sbin/wipe.sh and remember that MUST have execute bit (777 to be sure)
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 10:05

Sorry, ignore that, had a moment there :)

Running the script now, will let you know the outcome.

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 17 Jul 2012 07:31

Ok, after running the script on each drive which took about three days per drive, I reinstalled N4F and tried to setup my ZFS pool with the same error 1 code.

I have no idea why it keeps doing this, I am on the verge of going back over to openfiler as I desperately need a nas again, I would really like to use N4F as it looks like a much better OS for my needs and would really like to use the ZFS filesystem.

I am at a complete dead end and running out of time, any final suggestions would be truly appreciated.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 17 Jul 2012 08:05

Sorry , I don't have more ideas, perhaps you must try other aproach like OVM, is based on DEBIAN and do not have ZFS , but have Ext4 so perhaps works well for you.

http://www.openmediavault.org/

PD: As far I know, error code 1 was gone with a reisntall from scracth on a new boot disk and "clean" DATA disk, if this do not work for you I don't kwon more to do.
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

SlowMo
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 00:15
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby SlowMo » 17 Jul 2012 12:03

I had the same problem when creating a pool. I was trying to create a pool named "Tank" and the only fix I found was to set it up with a custom mountpoint, which was "/mnt/tank". Not sure if this will work for you, but it could.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3522
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 21:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 17 Jul 2012 13:13

Hey, your reply is very interesting, I remember a post in the deleted old Nas4free forum of someone that upgrade from FreeNAS 8 that have the same beaviour, and the problem was that FreeNAS 8 Mont / Create Pool in a diferent folder that FreeNAS 7, so you need to impor from GUI adding desired mount point because the mount point originally in FreeNAS 8 Do not work on FreeNAS 7 = Nas4Free.

Code: Select all

zpool import -R /mnt -f poolname


or

Code: Select all

zpool import -o mountpoint=/mnt -f poolname
N4F 10.1.0.2.1702 on HP ProLiant DL120 G6
12GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mattyg007
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 06:45
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 18 Jul 2012 05:53

Hi, thanks so much for trying to assist, I tried both suggestions but still no luck.

I have decided to settle for a straight forward RAID5 and managed to set it up without any problems.

Thanks again for all your help.

sska
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 16:02
Status: Offline

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby sska » 18 Jul 2012 17:24

mattyg007 wrote:I tried both suggestions but still no luck.

can you post the output of these commands?
and what say?

Code: Select all

# zfs get all | grep mountpoint


Return to “ZFS (only!)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest