Login    Register
Forum rules
NAS4Free Official SiteSet-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
  • Author
    Message

ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 27 Jun 2012 15:35

Hi

When I tray and create my ZFS pool, it gives me an error 1 when I click apply changes.

I read somewhere that I might need to do wipe the drives completely clean before creating the pool, is this true and if so, how do I go about doing that.

Any advise.

Thanks
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 29 Jun 2012 07:05

mattyg007 wrote:read somewhere that I might need to do wipe the drives completely clean before creating the pool
yes, you can use "dd" to do the job.

http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0129

If you have important data, make a Backup First.

PD: Nas4free can continue working withot problem with this error, only afect to WebGUI not to data or ZFS stability, so if you have a lot of Data, perhaps do you wants to live with "Error 1 changes can not be applied".
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 30 Jun 2012 16:18

Thanks for the reply, I've run dban on all six of my 2TB drives but I still get the same error when trying to create a pool.

Not sure if I have done something wrong or if there is something else I need to do...
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 13:11

Anybody :)

Really would like to use the ZFS file system and need to get this NAS box up and running soon.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2012 13:30

Please post your step, perhaps you forgot some importan step.
1 Do you wipe first and last sector ? , please post the comand do you use.
2 How do you create your pool , please describe all step.

tell us what config do you want to use whit your 6 Disk, perhaps can help you to create from CLI if WebGUI do not work (Anbd tell us the name of disk (ad0,2,3,5,7,8,etc...)

PD: This user solved the problem reinstalling NAS4Free: http://forums.nas4free.org/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=261&p=714#p714
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 15:43

Thanks so much for getting back to me.

I have six disks, ada0, ada1, ada2, ada3, ada4, ada5.

These are the two command i ran on all the drives.
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 count=1
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 oseek=` count=27029168 - 2` count=2

I then logged into the web gui and went to disk management, added the disk without formatting them.
I then went to format and formatted them for ZFS pool.
Then I went to disks, ZFS and created a Virtual device
Then I went to pools, management and tried to added the pool there and that is where it gives me the error.

I have also tried a re-install but didn't help.

Hope this helps, thanks again.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 03 Jul 2012 15:53

Sorry, meant to tell you as well that I would like to create one raidz1 storage pool with all of my drives using all of the available drive space.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2012 20:44

mattyg007 wrote:These are the two command i ran on all the drives.
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 count=1
/bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=512 oseek=` count=27029168 - 2` count=2
I underline and Bold the part wrong.

To avoid this problem use wipe.sh is the same code of the wiki, copy to /usr/local/sbin and check that have execute permision, try to execute on all disk of your pool like is described on wiki:http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0129

wipe.sh


PD: 27029168 x 51 2= 13.838.934.016 /1024 /1024/1024 =12.88 GB = Strange capacity, so your numbers are wrong.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 05:35

Will give it a try, thanks!
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 08:29

When I try and run wipe.sh it says to me command not found.

Not sure why.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 04 Jul 2012 09:01

use full path /usr/local/sbin/wipe.sh and remember that MUST have execute bit (777 to be sure)
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 04 Jul 2012 09:05

Sorry, ignore that, had a moment there :)

Running the script now, will let you know the outcome.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 17 Jul 2012 06:31

Ok, after running the script on each drive which took about three days per drive, I reinstalled N4F and tried to setup my ZFS pool with the same error 1 code.

I have no idea why it keeps doing this, I am on the verge of going back over to openfiler as I desperately need a nas again, I would really like to use N4F as it looks like a much better OS for my needs and would really like to use the ZFS filesystem.

I am at a complete dead end and running out of time, any final suggestions would be truly appreciated.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 17 Jul 2012 07:05

Sorry , I don't have more ideas, perhaps you must try other aproach like OVM, is based on DEBIAN and do not have ZFS , but have Ext4 so perhaps works well for you.

http://www.openmediavault.org/

PD: As far I know, error code 1 was gone with a reisntall from scracth on a new boot disk and "clean" DATA disk, if this do not work for you I don't kwon more to do.
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby SlowMo » 17 Jul 2012 11:03

I had the same problem when creating a pool. I was trying to create a pool named "Tank" and the only fix I found was to set it up with a custom mountpoint, which was "/mnt/tank". Not sure if this will work for you, but it could.
NewUser
SlowMo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 23:15

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby raulfg3 » 17 Jul 2012 12:13

Hey, your reply is very interesting, I remember a post in the deleted old Nas4free forum of someone that upgrade from FreeNAS 8 that have the same beaviour, and the problem was that FreeNAS 8 Mont / Create Pool in a diferent folder that FreeNAS 7, so you need to impor from GUI adding desired mount point because the mount point originally in FreeNAS 8 Do not work on FreeNAS 7 = Nas4Free.

Code: Select all
zpool import -R /mnt -f poolname


or

Code: Select all
zpool import -o mountpoint=/mnt -f poolname
Site Admin
raulfg3

User avatar
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 20:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby mattyg007 » 18 Jul 2012 04:53

Hi, thanks so much for trying to assist, I tried both suggestions but still no luck.

I have decided to settle for a straight forward RAID5 and managed to set it up without any problems.

Thanks again for all your help.
NewUser
mattyg007
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 05:45

Re: ZFS Pool error

Postby sska » 18 Jul 2012 16:24

mattyg007 wrote:I tried both suggestions but still no luck.

can you post the output of these commands?
and what say?
Code: Select all
# zfs get all | grep mountpoint
NewUser
sska
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 15:02

Return to ZFS (only!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests